Slovakia provides for ten years of mandatory education. Students enter primary education in their 6th year, second primary education will take them from 10-15 years of age and “high” schools are for those 16 and older until they reach university age. Most Universities in Slovakia are government owned and operated although since 1990 there are more private and religious options. These “Private Spice” forms of higher education remain rare in the country.


The Slovak Republic (Slovakia) has been established on 1 January 1993 as one of the successors to the Czech and Slovak Federative Republic. It is a parliamentary democracy, and its Constitution guarantees equal rights for all citizens regardless of sex, race, color, language, faith, religion, political affiliation or conviction, national or social origin, nationality or ethnic origin, property, birth or any other status.

The Slovak Republic is situated in Central Europe, sharing borders with Austria, the Czech Republic, Poland, Ukraine and Hungary. Mountains, lowlands, valleys, lakes, cave formations, forests and meadows provide many examples of Slovakia’s year-round natural beauty. The Carpathian Arc, a range of mountains stretching across the north, takes up almost a half of the country. The south and east of the country lie in the lowlands, an important agricultural area in Slovakia.

Official name: Slovak Republic
Area: 49,035 km² Population: 5.4 million
Capital: Bratislava (431,061 inhabitants) 
Official language: Slovak
Currency: euro (since 1 January 2009)
Membership in international organizations: EU (2004), NATO (2004), UN, OECD, OSCE, WHO, INTERPOL etc.


Slovakia is one of the countries belonging to the Schengen area. Transiting from one country to another within the Schengen area is done without border controls. For the purposes of the Schengen (tourist) visa and Schengen border controls, the current Schengen area is composed of the following countries – Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Norway, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. The Azores and Madeira, as part of Portugal, and the Canary Islands and Balearic Islands, as part of Spain, are included in the Schengen area. Ceuta and Melilla – Spain's autonomous cities in northern Africa – are a special case: they are part of the Schengen area, but border control is still in force there. France's overseas possessions, on the other hand, are considered to be outside of the area. All countries and territories that are members of the Schengen acquits, of the EU or of EFTA. Positive visa list of countries from whose citizens no visa is required to enter the territory of the EU member states for a period of maximum 90 days.



  • Fully completed visa application form

  • Two passport photographs

  • Valid national passport & one copy

  • Original of valid resident visa

  • Confirmation letter from your health insurance stating coverage & one copy

  • Proof of group travel/ hotel booking in Spain/ airline reservation for Slovakia & one copy

  • Closed round-trip or tour ticket

  • Current bank statement & one copy

  • Reference letter from your employer/ education institution

  • Document certifying the existence of commercial, industrial, or other

  • Visa fees for Slovakia Visa.


Start your search now and find funding options that match your individual profile. We have over 12.320 funding opportunities waiting for you! Our service is completely free of charge.